Customs Union of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan is launched.

Single customs tariff in the Customs Union is introduced for Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan from 1 January 2010. Introduction of the uniform tariff provides the reduction of tariffs on a number of positions for the Russia.

The leaders of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan announced the creation of the Customs Union of the three countries in Minsk on 27 November 2009. The decision was taken at a meeting of the Interstate Council of Eurasian Economic Community (EEC), which also is the supreme authority of the Customs Union of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan. Following the summit, President Dmitry Medvedev said that the formation of the Customs Union should be a major step towards the Single Economic Space. Moscow, Minsk and Astana have agreed to fully cooperate for the accession of other countries in the Customs Union. In particular, the question of accession to the Customs Union was discussed with Kyrgyzstan.

Introduction to Common Customs Tariff is an important step in creating a common economic space in the territory of the EurAsEC.