The Ukrainian government has expanded the list of Russian goods banned for import.

At the end of 2018, the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine approved a list of products prohibited for imports from Russia. The list contains, among others, corn starch, glucose and glucose syrup, maltodextrin and maltodextrin syrup.

On 18 December 2018, the Ukrainian government extended the embargo on the import of food products from the Russian Federation until 2020. The list includes over 30 types of goods. In particular, the following are prohibited:

  • bakery and confectionery products made from flour,
  • chocolates,
  • meat,
  • fish,
  • coffee,
  • black tea,
  • food for children,
  • cigarettes with filter,
  • beer,
  • vodka and many other goods.

The list also contains a ban on the import of railway equipment:

  • locomotives,
  • trains,
  • cars, and
  • switches.

In connection with the entry into force of the economic part of the Association Agreement between Ukraine and the EU, Russia decided to suspend from 1 January 2016 the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with regard to Ukraine in order to protect the country’s economic interests. In addition, since the beginning of 2016, the Russian embargo imposed on food products in response to European sanctions against Russia has also spread to Ukraine. The ban includes import of Ukrainian meat, sausages, fish and seafood, vegetables, fruits, dairy products. Ukraine, in turn, adopted the decree ‘On the prohibition of import into the customs territory of goods originating in Russia’, which entered into force on 10 January 2016.